Monday, April 2, 2018

March 2018 Wrap Up

12:10:00 PM

MARCH 2018 WRAP UP

       In March, I took the MCAT, so I didn't get hardly any reading done outside of the required texts for my classes. So, without further ado, here is my super short wrap up. And when I say short, I mean I read 2 novels and a graphic novel, so hardly anything.

9810317   224704   38939032

      I had to read the two novels, "Gone with the Wind" and "The Road to Serfdom" for my history class. I absolutely hated "Gone with the Wind". I thought it was a bunch of racist bullshit that tried to paint the South circa the Civil War as great people. As I said in my mini review on Goodreads, I am clearly not a part of the targeted demographic as a black woman from the North. I didn't hate "The Road to Serfdom", but I certainly didn't like it either. It was "eh" at best. Finally, after the MCAT I treated myself to the newest issue of "Archie". Each time I think the story is going to go one way, it doesn't. I appreciate how different it is from "Riverdale", which I haven't watched in like 3 months or so, so I really need to catch up on that show when I have time in the summer.


      How was your month as far as reading went? Have you read any of the books I read? And if so, what did you think of them? I would especially love to hear your thoughts on "Gone with the Wind", as I am sure they probably differ from mine. 

Friday, March 30, 2018

Friday Reads: 3/30/18

12:02:00 PM

FRIDAY READS: 3/30/18

     This week has been the first week in a while that I have gotten a good chunk of reading done. For those of you not in the loop, I took the MCAT this past Saturday, a test I have been studying for for damn near a year. So this week, I got to read.


      So today/this weekend I'm reading two very different books, "Parable of the Sower" and "Bone Music".

Image result for parable of the sower octavia butler   Image result for bone music book

      I've been reading "Bone Music" by Christopher Rice since like February, but haven't had time to read it since I was studying for the MCAT. Now that that is out of the way, I fully intend on finishing the book this weekend. I'm about 2/3 of the way done with the book, and I still have mixed thoughts about it. I'll let you guys know my final opinion when I put up my review.


      For my religion class I am reading "Parable of the Sower" by Octavia Butler. Gonna be honest, I'm not a huge fan of Butler's work. I absolutely hated "Kindred", despite everyone I know giving it such acclaim. "Parable of the Sower" is definitely better, but I'm still not a fan. I think my main problem is the plots are not fleshed out as much as they could be and the things don't add up like they should; nothing is every explained why.


      Well, that's what I'm reading today and the rest of the weekend. I have about a month of school left, so I probably won't have a lot of reading happening between then and now, but once summer starts, you bet your ass I'm going to try to make up for all those books I never got to.

      What are you guys reading this weekend? Have you read the books I'm reading? If so, what did you think about them? Tell me all your thoughts down in the comments.

Thursday, March 29, 2018

"Pacific Rim Uprising": A Disappointing Movie Review

9:00:00 AM

Image result for pacific rim uprising poster

Movie: Pacific Rim Uprising

Director: Steven S. DeKnight

Release Day: March 23, 2018

Series: Pacific Rim

My Rating: ★★

      When I heard they were going to make a sequel to one of my favorite movies, "Pacific Rim", I was wary. I became even more wary when I learned Del Torro wouldn't be returning to direct the movie and that it was a different cast (for the most part). Finally the trailers came out, and I was sure I was going to be disappointed, but I knew I had to go watch it.

      If I were to sum the movie up in one word, it would be TRASH. I knew the movie would be a let-down, but I didn't think it would be this bad. The plot, writing, acting, CGI, basically everything was bad. Like I wasn't expecting much, but I at least expected to not cringe, and that's basically what I was doing the whole time. The dialouge was actual shit, like a shit-faced teenage boy came up with it, and as a result the delivery was equally bad. Like I knew not to expect much from Scott Eastwood other than a pretty face, but I really though John Boyega would be a redeeming quality of the movie, and he wasn't which is so diappointing considering we know he can act well based on "Star Wars".


      I don't want to give much away about the plot, but it was a such a load of bullshit and completely undermined the first movie. THIS MOVIE DID NOT NEED TO HAPPEN. You watch the first movie and this movie and think, "WHO DECIDED THIS WAS A GOOD IDEA?". Don't get me wrong, I know the first movie has flaws and is by no means phenomenal, but it at least held it's own. "Pacific Rim Uprising" is like a shitty sequel that combines elements of "Power Rangers" with every other action sequel out there.


      Overall, I hate it. I think this movie was a compete money grab and I sincerely hope there is no sequel. The way I see it, I'm going to pretend like this movie doesn't exist just like we as a people all agree "Means Girls 2" didn't happy.


Monday, March 26, 2018

"Love, Simon" Review

9:00:00 AM

Image result for love simon

Movie: Love, Simon

Director: Greg Berlanti

Release Date: March 16, 2018

Based On: "Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens" by Becky Albertalli

My Rating:  ★★★★★

      For years I've been meaning to read "Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens", but I've just never got around to it. When I heard they were making a movie based on the book, I was so excited despite the fact that I hadn't read the book. The representation for LGBT+ teens in media is very small, so I'm excited when anything of this magnitude comes along. That being said...


I absolutely loved this movie! It was such a cute, heart-filled movie that made me smile, almost cry, freak out, and a whole wide range of emotions. Even though I'm asexual, I still completely understood the experiences Simon had as they were very similar to my own. The anxiety and helplessness about having a happy love story is one that is very real to me. I think the whole cast and crew did an excellent job of portraying such an emotional story that is personal to so many people.


I can't speak about the movie as a faithful adaptation as I have not read the book, but as a movie, I thought the tale was phenomenal. It was a mix of romance, comedy, coming of age, and basically everything needed to make a good teen movie. It's a movie I know I will watch over and over, time and time again. And now I finally have the motivation to tackle the book!

Sunday, March 25, 2018

I'M DONE WITH THE MCAT

2:31:00 PM

After months and months of studying I am finally done with the MCAT! 


I can't believe it is over with. It's so surreal to think that I'm done with this test that I have put so much time and effort into. And just like "that" it's just done. It all feels very anti-climatic...


Now the next step is to finish the semester and apply to medical schools. I can't believe I'm this far in my academic career. I don't feel old enough to be applying to medical school, yet here I am. I'm trying not to think about it too much because it makes me very anxious and nervous about the future. All of my education up to this point has been leading to this. I'm excited yet very fearful of what's to come.


Anyway, all that being said, I now have more time to read! I still have to read books for school, so I won't have a ton of time to read for fun, but come summer time in a couple of months, I can finally catch up on all the books I have been putting off for literally a year!

Wednesday, February 28, 2018

February 2018 Wrap Up

9:30:00 AM

FEBRUARY 2018 WRAP UP

      Hey you guys! I can't believe February is already over! This year is just flying by, which is exciting yet terrifying at the same time because it means I'm closer to graduating university and (hopefully) moving on to medical school and the real world.

     Like I said in my last post, I didn't get much reading done this month outside of class, but without further ado, here is what I read this month.

46793   753025  
 37875089   38503488


     So I read "Uncle Tom's Cabin" and "Looking Backward" for my history class, and I didn't hate them as much as I thought I was going to. "Uncle Tom's Cabin" was a little hard to get through because it made me pretty mad, but not nearly as mad as I thought it was going to make me. As a person of color, my opinions on this book were a lot different than those of my classmates and professors. As for "Looking Backwards", it gave in interesting insight into what people back in 1887 thought America could be like in 2000 if capitalism was gone and replaced by socialism and equality of all regardless of class and gender. There were some things that I feel like would be great if implemented, while other things I know could never happen because they are too ingrained in the very structure of the United States.

      Overall, this was a pretty terrible reading month, but I'm okay with that, because academically, socially, and mentally, I'm doing great.


FOLLOW @ INSTAGRAM

My Rating System

★★★★★ This book is a gift from the literary gods
★★★★ This book was pretty damn good
★★★ This book had potential but missed the bar
★★ I probably didn't finish this book or it was god awful
★ Why does this book exist?

Recent

Pageviews

Random