Saturday, June 8, 2019

TALKTIME #23: My Thoughts on Rereading Books

5:23:00 PM

TALKTIME #23: MY THOUGHTS ON REREADING BOOKS

      Hello and welcome to TALKTIME, a series in which I give my thoughts on various bookish topics. I haven't done one of these since 2017 (I know, I can't believe it's been that long either). If you're a returning reader and remember when I did these, thanks for sticking around so long. If you are new, welcome to this series; I hope you enjoy it.


      Today I thought I would discuss rereading books. I'm sure many people have given their opinions on this topic before, but I thought I would add my little bit into the conversation because why not.


      My opinion on rereading has changed a lot as I've grown up and gone through different stages of life. When I was in middle school and high school, I thought rereading books was the largest waste of time. Why would you read books that you've already finished when you can experience new works out there? I thought that the more new books you read, the better the reader you were. I know, yikes....


      Now, I've grown a lot more accustomed to rereading. I really didn't get rereading until college, but I haven't stopped since then.  In fact, it's something that I think I need to do every now in then. One of the biggest reasons I reread is because I need to read something that I know is going to hit me the way I want to be hit, give me the necessary feels, satisfy whatever reading mood I'm in. I'm such a mood reader, that I can't even touch a book if it doesn't fit the requirements I have put forth for that given time. So, there are some books that I know I loved that will fit within that mood.

      Another huge reason I find myself rereading certain books is because I want to experience some of my favorite moments over again. I find myself doing this most often with contemporaries, which if y'all have been around long enough, you know I've got a complicated relationship with them. There are some relationships and chemistry that just make me so happy when I read them that I just go back to them time and time again to fill me with that joy that I'm looking for. Sometimes I'll reread a whole book just for a single scene that I super need in my life.

      On occasion, I'll reread books that I know I previously enjoyed but can't remember much from just to see if I still enjoy the book or for shits and giggles. This usually isn't the main reason for rereading a book, but I've found myself doing it more and more within the past several months.

        Overall, I guess what I'm trying to say is that sometimes I need to go back and read the things that make me happy. There are some books that will forever hold special places in my heart, and by rereading them I feed those little bits of my heart. Whenever I'm feeling down or go to a dark place, I know if I pick these books up, I'll rekindle the little sparks that these books lit in my when I first read them. No matter how my bookish tastes change, there are some books that truly are my favorite books.


      I hope you guys enjoyed this talktime. I'd like to do more of these, but I'm not going to sit here and promise that they'll happen more often.

      So what do you guys think about rereading? Do you like to reread? How often do you reread books? I'd love to hear your thoughts down below in the comments.

Wednesday, May 8, 2019

January - April 2019 Wrap Up

9:30:00 AM

JANUARY - APRIL 2019 WRAP UP

      I haven't done a wrap up since December, so it's been quite a while. I've written some little reviews since then every blue moon, but nothing comprehensive, so here are the books I've read since December.

33952377   42908078   40360406   41160884   41570092   42290508   33230889   26032887   28005835   28005841   28005849   28005857   36341204   15790833   32478497   35214949   35324776   36580709   36300625   43687922   44425039   36580692   38748589   24445517   9680718

      Somehow I managed to read 25 books in the past 4 months, which is a hell of a lot more than I thought I'd read, so that's exciting. As you can see, the majority of them were Rick and Morty comics. To say I'm obsessed with them would be a slight understatement. I own all the current ones in physical copies. They have their own shelf on my bookcase because there are so many of them...

      So I thought I'd go over some brief thoughts on the books that I've read and then link to any reviews I have.

Half- Blood by Jennifer L Armentrout 
This book is actually a reread from a series I read and absolutely loved in high school. I loved it just as much as I did in high school and will continue rereading the rest of the books in the series. Here is a review from when I first read the book 4 years ago. 

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover
This is also a reread for me. I don't particularly care for new adult and a lot of romance books, but this book is definitely the exception, and one of my favorites actually. I have a love hate relationship with Colleen Hoover, and this is one of the books from her that I actually love. Here is my mini review from when I first read the book 4 years ago. 

A Brief Chronicle of Another Heartbreak by Adi Alsaid
I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I thought the book was alright, but it didn't blow me away. Here is my review on it. 

What if It's Us by Becky Albertelli and Adam Silvera
This book was a slight disappointment, thought I didn't go in with high hopes, due to my complicated relationship with YA contemporary romance. Here is my review on it. 

99 Percent Mine by Sally Thorne
I really wanted to like this book because I absolutely loved her first book, The Hating Game, but this book was really nothing special. Nothing about the characters, plot, or romance appealed to me.

The Wicked King by Holly Black
Last but certainly not least, is my favorite book I've read over these past four months. This series by Holly Black has captured me. Holly Black makes me enjoy reading about faeries, and the complicated relationships and character dynamics in this book made it such a fascinating read. I can't wait for the final book to come out. I NEED IT IN MY LIFE!!!


      So that's pretty much been my reading life these past few months. Have you read any of the books I've read? If so, what are your thoughts? I'd love to hear everything down in the comments. 

Tuesday, May 7, 2019

So... I Started a Podcast

12:06:00 PM

SO... I STARTED A PODCAST!

      Hi you guys! I thought I would share some exciting news with you guys, which is, I started a podcast!!!


      My podcast, "What a Concept" will cover some of my passions like films, tv shows, occasionally books, and whatever else I feels like discussing. I've always had a passion for these forms of media, and while I've enjoyed discussing them as much as I could on this blog, I feel like I haven't been able to say all I've wanted to say and get the engagement I've wanted on this platform. So, after much trial and error and careful consideration I started a podcast.


      Now don't worry, I'm still going to be writing on this blog. Some things will be on here, some on the podcast, depending on the content. If you guys are at all interested, you can check out my podcast below. I'm currently working on getting it hosted across a variety of platforms. As of May 7th, I've only got one episode up, but I'm working on getting more content up.


Saturday, April 20, 2019

A Much Prolonged Life Update

3:58:00 PM

A MUCH PROLONGED LIFE UPDATE     

      It's been a hot second since I've done an update on here, so here I am, giving you one.


      I've been living in Chicago for a little over four months now, having graduated from university in December. The glow from being a newly graduated college student and being a real adult with a job has passed and I'm now in the phase where my life has a high level of monotony to it. There have been changes at my job that I haven't been a big fan of, so I don't like it as much as I used to, especially since it's become abundantly clear that most of the immediate people I interact with daily don't like me (and for the sole reason that I actually do work at work).


      March was a pretty good month for me. My best friend from college came to visit me twice, once for her spring break and again for the Comic and Entertainment Expo (C2E2) here in Chicago. We had an absolute blast, especially at C2E2. I got a bunch of graphic novels, a Lord of the Rings wine class, a Godzilla shot glass, a Slytherin wine glass (yes, I have finally embraced the fact that I am not a Ravenclaw and own my Slytherin nature fully now), and a bunch of music sheet posters that have movie or book covers on them (Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, Deadpool, etc). Me and my two friends cosplayed as the Weird Sisters from the Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, so that was dope.


      I've decided to apply to PhD programs this fall to go back to school next year (Fall 2020). I've gotten the much needed break I needed from school for my mental health, and quite honestly, I'm ready for more school. I miss being in an academic environment, especially a rigorous scientific one. I don't feel challenged enough anymore, and I love research and science so much. 


      Outside of that, not much as happened in my life. I live a pretty boring life. You would think with my boring ass life, I would have more time to read and blog, but it's just not something I've been feeling. As of lately I've been rereading some of my favorite books from when I was in high school and college, so that's exciting. In August I'm going on a cruise to Cuba with my Mom and we're also planning a multi-country Europe trip in October, so I'm really pumped about that. My mom and I aren't super close like most mother-daughter relationships are (at least how I imagine they are), so this is going to be interesting.


      Well, that's my life update. Thanks for tuning in.

My Rating System

★★★★★ This book is a gift from the literary gods
★★★★ This book was pretty damn good
★★★ This book had potential but missed the bar
★★ I probably didn't finish this book or it was god awful
★ Why does this book exist?

Pageviews